0

Your Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty.
 You are here    Flowers by the Sea / Testimonials

Testimonials

All of the plants that I received are among the best sent by any vendor! They arrived incredibly full, intact and with blooms. For hard-to-find plants, FBTS is worth the price and shipping.
dave sherron who rated us 10 / 10 on Dec 16, 2015

Bought three plants and they are doing great. One salvia that was only in the ground two weeks is already in bloom. The other two plants are doing very well. They are rooting real good before it starts to really freeze in the next week. Plants arrived in excellent condition and I plan on buying more in the near future. Thank you FBTS for great plants!!!!
Mr G who rated us 10 / 10 on Dec 9, 2015

Thank you for the extra time and care in making sure that the plants arrived in excellent condition. The vigorous roots of each plant readily lend themselves to organic inoculants (mycorrhizae) and soil amendments (compost). Just by observing them in pots, it is my novice opinion that the xeric nature of some of the shipment might be tempered by digging an extra deep/wide planting hole for increased drainage (San Antonio, Tx.-desperately hard, caliche-clay soil-Zone 8). Does anyone else have an opinion on my drainage theory? Thank You again and God Bless.
Jimmy Brooks who rated us 10 / 10 on Dec 4, 2015

I live in the Phoenix area and someone recommended Salvia Amistad, a relatively new and rare plant, to me. Searching for it I was able to find it online at Flowers by the Sea. I was a bit reluctant to order plants by mail, but figured I'd give it a whirl. The plants arrived wrapped in a flat box, each wrapped in packing paper and slightly damp. The Amistads (I also got some Wendy's wish) still had purple blooms on them when they arrived, and have continued throwing them since they got here. They were healthy and went into the ground and started thriving right away. A great experience all around, and I thought it was a good value for what I got (AMAZING plants). Thanks!
Andrzej who rated us 10 / 10 on Nov 28, 2015

This nursery should be the model for every other nursery. The plants they send are large, healthy, and ready to be planted after only a couple of days of recovery from shipping. There are so many ways in which their web site lets you find suitable plants for your garden. FBTS has species and varieties that cannot be found elsewhere. Every plant I've received from them has flourished. It would be difficult to pick a favorite, but today, I'd have to choose Salvia x 'Raspberry Truffle' -- it is in full bloom at the end of November, its color makes me swoon, and the hummers go wild for it.
Mary Jo Ballator who rated us 10 / 10 on Nov 26, 2015

The Salvia reglas and S. scordifolias that you sent are wonderful! They're in the ground and looking happy. You guys are a bit pricey (shipping?), but the plants are robust, and their rarity in the trade makes it worth it, as does your sage advice on planting in my particular climate. Too many of your competitors send runts in tiny pots at lousy planting times for Houston (zone 9a). Please recommend other flashy plants that can deal with our nasty summers. Dave Sherron
dave sherron who rated us 10 / 10 on Nov 24, 2015

Kermit Carter at Flowers By The Sea is totally in a class by himself ! I have been a avid \"grower\" for 55 of my 81 years, always pursuing knowledge from nurserymen and growers. The CA drought took me to fbts, because azaleas, camellias, and rhododendrons are no longer in vogue! The several hundred dollars worth of plants that Kermit has sent to me have been in exceptional condition, many ready to bloom right out of the shipping container Moreover, Kermit does not only offer numerous instructional, as well as the regular Salvia Guru newsletters, but is readily responsive to email inquiries concerning growing practice.
Gerald Czamanske who rated us 10 / 10 on Nov 12, 2015

The flowers are all great -- Everything was well-packaged and arrived without problems. Would definitely recommend Flowers by the Sea.
Margaret Matteson who rated us 8 / 10 on Nov 11, 2015

Very happy with purchase.
NELLY who rated us 10 / 10 on Nov 9, 2015

FBTS was great. They let me know when my item was available. Their packaging was very plant sensitive, and the plant was healthy. I am looking forwards to spring to see it bloom
Carolyn Piatt who rated us 10 / 10 on Nov 5, 2015

I'm just getting in to growing salvias. I ordered 3 each of salvia glechomifolia (ground ivy sage) and salvia microphylla (\"Hot Lips\") from FBTS. All plants arrived happy and thriving, and have already settled in with new growth and flowers in my Portland garden. Thank you Vikki and Kermit!
Carolyn Wells who rated us 8 / 10 on Oct 28, 2015

In one word? WOW! May the Lord continue to bless you and yours to prosper.
Jimmy Lee Brooks Jr who rated us 10 / 10 on Oct 25, 2015

I was very happy when my plants arrived to see that they were large and very well packed. I live in MIchigan so they had to come quite a distance. They arrived in perfect shape. They are doing well now that they are planted. I know that Michigan is fairly far north for these salvias but I hope they will make it.
Susan who rated us 10 / 10 on Oct 25, 2015

I purchased 24 mandarin agastache and they arrived beautifully packed! They were healthy beautiful plants and are dong great inmy garden. Thank you! and would highly recommend Flowers by the Sea!. Looking forward to more purchases next year.
m.morneau@att.net who rated us 10 / 10 on Oct 19, 2015

I am a recent convert to being a salvia lover and I must say I LOVE browsing through the FBTS website which is wonderfully organized. You make it so easy to order, too. My first order arrived on time just a few weeks ago and I was really impressed with the packaging and the quality and size of the plants that were sent to me. Now it's up to me to keep them growing and thriving. I just placed another order for three more plants that I'm anxiously awaiting. I can't order more until I make a definite plan where everything can fit. The drought we are experiencing in California is the catalyst for making these changes. Saving water as well as helping birds, butterflies and bees survive are my primary goals. Thank you, Flowers by the Sea, for your help.
Joanne Paine who rated us 10 / 10 on Oct 8, 2015

I bought three Dara's Choice salvia for a xeric garden, simply on the basis that I had no other idea what to put in it, and all three plants are doing spectacularly. - from small pots to 3' or more wide in less than six months. I only water them once a month, and the weather's been hot and dry. The leaves are dark green and provide a wonderful foil for the Centaurea (that I also purchased here), smell wonderfully (almost like culinary sage) and the flowers are a beautiful medium blue. What a great pick!
Joan who rated us 10 / 10 on Oct 1, 2015

I purchased three salvias plants arrived in three days in St Louis Mo planted same and they are growing great, new growth plants in great shape, healthy good size. Thank you fbys. Francis
Francis Holster who rated us 10 / 10 on Sep 29, 2015

Very pleased with all the salvias that I have purchased. They are planted in a garden setting and are thriving. The salvias are hardy and are thriving. The service and the quality of plants was exceptional. Will keep returning
Anton T Harris who rated us 9 / 10 on Sep 18, 2015

I have been ordering Salvias from Flowers By The Sea for several years now. They are a real treasure! I have not found another nusery with such an amazing selection of species Salvias. All plants always arrive in excellent condition - perfectly packed and packaged and of the perfect size for transfer into the garden. This company has everything covered - a perfectly designed website, with excellent information on all species offered and so much information about all things Salvia. Bravo!
sheila who rated us 10 / 10 on Sep 18, 2015

This was my first experience with ordering plants from Flowers by the Sea. Exceptional service and attention to packing /shipping detail and follow-up, from Flowers by the Sea. Timely receipt of plants that were in very good condition. I planted them here in North Carolina a couple days after receipt ( about a month ago) and they are already blossoming! I will definitely consider ordering from Flowers by the Sea again.
Gardner in North Carolina who rated us 10 / 10 on Sep 9, 2015

Plants looked very good at very reasonable prices.
Brenda who rated us 10 / 10 on Sep 7, 2015

I have been ordering plants from Flowers by The Sea for three years. I have received over 200 plants in that period, and they have always been healthy, clean, great looking plants. I usually get my plants on Tuesday and each Tuesday it feels like Christmas. Opening the carefully packed box and unwrapping each plant, I feel like a kid, getting just what I wanted and expected. After you put the plants in the ground or pot, and they grow, you are further rewarded with foliage and flowers that are as they were described. Although I haven't had any problems, Kermit has always been ready and willing to answer any questions. You will only be happy with any plants you might order from Kermit and Vikki. Dave Holland
David Holland who rated us 10 / 10 on Sep 5, 2015

I ordered 25 plants in two separate orders. They arrived quickly and in great condition. Don't be put off by the small size of the pots (3.5\"), as the plants are large and healthy, more like 1 gallon size plants you'd get from your local nursery. In only a couple of weeks, several of the salvias are already blooming. I'm very glad that I found their website. Such a huge variety of amazing salvias from around the world to feed the hummingbirds and butterflies that I love to attract to my garden. I highly recommend Flowers by the Sea. Mike Belcher
Mike Belcher who rated us 9 / 10 on Sep 5, 2015

The plants purchased from FBTS are first rate! They were healthy, and rearing to grow when I received them. Would definitely order again.
Stacy West who rated us 10 / 10 on Sep 5, 2015

I received my most recent shipment last week. I'm always amazed to see how fresh and fluffy the plants arrive. I always have excellent results with your plants. The quality is delightful. Thankyou for such good service.
ZoeAnna Hall who rated us 10 / 10 on Sep 2, 2015

Have questions?
Contact us
Contact us
Signup for Special Offers & Stay Connected

Signup for our free newsletters
Enter your email below:

Best Sellers

Our #2 Best Seller
Our #3 Best Seller
Our #4 Best Seller
Our #5 Best Seller
Our #7 Best Seller
Our #8 Best Seller
Our #11 Best Seller
Our #12 Best Seller
Ask Mr Sage is one of the most popular categories in our Everything Salvias blog. Here are a few of the latest posts:
Ask Mr. Sage: Why Do Back-in-Stock Plants Disappear?:

When FBTS plants are out of stock, customers have the option of receiving email notification when they are available again. But a back-in-stock alert doesn't indicate the...

Ask Mr Sage: What Kind of Plant Is a Clone?:

It's helpful to understand botanical terminology such as clone, variety, and cultivar. Mr. Sage explains what the three words mean and how the processes of cloning and plant development...

Ask Mr. Sage: What Tropical Sage Should I Select?:

Selecting the right types of Tropical Sage (Salvia coccinea) can be confusing when viewing them in a catalog and seeing similar flower colors. Yet they may differ in cultivation needs,...

Ask Mr. Sage: How to Buy Salvia Alert Plants:

Competition to buy unusual, limited-supply Salvias through the FBTS Salvia Alert newsletter can be fierce and frustrating. Mr. Sage offers tips for succeeding through patience and...

Ask Mr. Sage: Which Milkweed Is Right for My Garden?:

Although America has many native milkweeds, choosing the right one for your garden partly depends on plant and seed availability. Limitations sometimes cause gardeners to select nonnative Tropical...